Jo Walton and Mary Robinette Kowal

  • [Jo Walton and Mary Robinette Kowal]
  • [Jo Walton and Mary Robinette Kowal]

Join Jo Walton and Mary Robinette Kowal as they celebrate their titles My Real Children and Valour and Vanity at the Forbidden Planet London Megastore on Thursday 21st August from 6 – 7pm!

In Jo Walton’s ‘My Real Children’, it is 2015 and Patricia Cowan is very old. ‘Confused today’ read the notes clipped to the end of her bed. Her childhood, her years at Oxford during the Second World War – those things are solid in her memory. Then that phone call and . . . her memory splits in two. She was Trish, a housewife and a mother of four. She was Pat, a successful travel writer and mother of three. She remembers living her life as both women, so very clearly. Which memory is real – or are both just tricks of time and light?

My Real Children is the story of both Patricia Cowan’s lives – each with its loves and losses, sorrows and triumphs, its possible consequences. Perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson’s Life After Life, Audrey Niffenegger’s The Time Traveller’s Wife and Ursula K. Le Guin; it is a novel about how every life means the entire world.

In Mary Robinette Kowal’s ‘Valour and Vanity’, the Ellsworths and the Vincents have set off on a tour of the continent. Glamourists Jane and Vincent plan to separate from the main party and travel to Murano to study with the renowned glassblowers there, but Barbary corsairs while set upon their ship en route. It is their good fortune that they are not enslaved, but they lose everything to the pirates and arrive in Murano destitute.

Vincent hatches a reckless plan to get their money back. The ensuing adventure is a glorious envisioning of all the best parts of heist narratives, but in a magical Regency setting.

Event Locations & Times

London Megastore
From to