• [The Hammer Story: Revised & Expanded Edition (Hardcover) (Product Image)]
  • The Hammer Story: Revised & Expanded Edition (Hardcover)

    • Pre-Order
    Universe: Hammer House Of Horror
    Authors: Marcus Hearn, and Alan Barnes
    Published by: Titan Books

    £21.99 RRP £29.99

      • This item is available to pre-order.
      • Due for release: October 2024.
        We expect to receive the item from our suppliers on or around this date.
      • Store prices may vary
      • Return Policy
    • This item is not expected to arrive before Christmas. Need a gift quickly? Send an eVoucher with instant delivery.

    Copy and paste the following code where you want the embed to appear.

    If you're an affiliate make sure your code is set in the “Affiliate” section.


    If you are an affiliate you can add your code to the share link by entering it here

Product Description

The only authorised history of Hammer Films draws on exclusive access to the company’s archive of stills and paperwork to give the complete history of the company and its leading figures, a film-by-film analysis of its horror and fantasy titles, and the most complete Hammer filmography ever published.

Established in 1934, Hammer Films is one of the most renowned and prolific independent production companies in the world.

Hammer’s productions encompass almost every genre, but it remains best known for the groundbreaking reinvention of cinematic horror that was a phenomenon on both sides of the Atlantic in the 1950s. The unique formula that became known as Hammer Horror was perfected in such classics as The Curse of Frankenstein (1957), Dracula (1958) and The Mummy (1959). Over the next 20 years numerous sequels and similarly acclaimed films such as The Devil Rides Out (1968) made Hammer one of the most recognisable filmmaking brands in the world.

The Hammer Story is the only authorised history of the company and was compiled with unlimited access to its archive. The book is lavishly illustrated with rare promotional material and previously unpublished photographs.

Now with an additional 32 pages continuing the story of Hammer as it came back from the dead in 2007 and began producing new horror films for a modern audience, including:

• Wake Wood (2009) – Hammer Films’ first theatrical release for 30 years

• Let Me In (2010) – directed by Matt Reeves

• The Resident (2011) – starring Oscar-winner Hilary Swank and Hammer legend Sir Christopher Lee

• The Woman in Black (2012) – starring Daniel Radcliffe

• The Quiet Ones (2014) – starring Jared Harris

• The Woman in Black: Angel of Death (2015) – starring Helen McCrory

• The Lodge (2019) – directed by Veronika Franz and Severin Fiala

Product Specifications

Keep up to date with related content where you see this icon.

Click to Watch and get regular updates… find out more

  • Hardback
Cat. No.
  • 6003814
  • 9781803365145
  • 9781803365145