• [The Wolf & The Woodsman (Product Image)]
  • The Wolf & The Woodsman

    • Pre-Order
    Author: Ava Reid
    Published by: Cornerstone

    £6.99 RRP £8.99

      • This item is available to pre-order.
      • Due for release: 7 March 2022.
        We expect to receive the item from our suppliers on or around this date.
      • Delivery cost of this item to United Kingdom: £2.00
      • Store prices may vary
      • Return Policy

Product Description

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER

A dark, evocative and unforgettable fantasy debut steeped in Hungarian history and Jewish mythology, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Katherine Arden.

‘Rooted in history and myth, The Wolf and the Woodsman is a stunning debut… It will twine like a dark forest around your heart.’ Samantha Shannon, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Priory of the Orange Tree

A spirited outcast. A disgraced prince.

A world where monsters roam free.

In her forest-veiled pagan village, Évike is the only woman without power. So when soldiers from the Holy Order of Woodsmen arrive to claim a girl for their king’s blood sacrifice, the villagers only have one person to offer up.

But when they are attacked en-route to the capital, and everyone but Évike and a lone Woodsman are slaughtered, they have no choice but to rely on each other. Except he’s no ordinary Woodsman - he’s the disgraced prince, Gáspár Bárány, whose father needs pagan magic to consolidate his power.

As they travel from the bitter northern tundra to the smog-choked capital, they form a tenuous pact that slowly turns their loathing turns to affection. But trust is easily betrayed, and as Évike discovers her own hidden magic, she and Gaspar must decide where their loyalties really lie…

‘Entertaining, appealing, and strikingly imagined’ Tor.com

‘An intricate, gut-wrenching fantasy that will set the bar for dark historical fantasy for years to come.’ The Book Report

‘Gorgeously written and grimly real’ Alix Harrow

‘A grown-up, complicated, angsty, sexy, dark book’ Cultured Vulture

‘Richly imagined, densely textured, and endlessly delightful’ Katherine Addison

‘A powerful feminist story about acceptance, The Wolf and the Woodsman is perfect for fans of The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden’ British Fantasy Society

Product Specifications

Keep up to date with related content where you see this icon.

Click to Watch and get regular updates… find out more

Author
Genre
Publisher
Type
Binding
  • Paperback
Cat. No.
  • 5467945
EAN
  • 9781529100754
ISBN
  • 9781529100754