• [Awaiting product image]
  • Pre-Order The Blood of Stars: Book 1: Spin the Dawn
    Author: Elizabeth Lim
    Published by: Hodder & Stoughton
    £7.99 RRP £8.99
      • This item is available to pre-order.
      • Due for release: 4 March 2021.
        We expect to receive the item from our suppliers on or around this date.
      • Delivery cost of this item to United Kingdom: £2.00
      • Store prices may vary
      • Return Policy

Description

‘What an amazing creation! Every time I thought I knew where it was going, I was wrong. This is a white-knuckle read’ Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times bestselling author A gifted tailor in disguise. Three legendary dresses. The competition of a lifetime.

Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars. On the fringes of the Great Spice Road, Maia Tamarin works as a seamstress in her father’s shop. She dreams of becoming the best tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well.

When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as his son and travels to the Summer Palace in his place. She knows her life is forfeit if her secret is discovered, but she’ll take that risk to save her family and achieve her dream of becoming the imperial tailor. There’s just one catch: Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job.

Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia’s task is further complicated when she draws the unwelcome attention of the court enchanter, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise.

And nothing could have prepared her for the final challenge: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor’s reluctant bride-to-be: from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined.

Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Renee Ahdieh. ‘Looking for your next big YA fantasy series? We’ve got our eye on this stylist blockbuster’ Entertainment Weekly ‘Spin the Dawn is proof that casting a wider net not only gives us a fresh story that feels unlike everything else on the shelves beside it but also allows for richer and more nuanced storytelling’ NPR ‘All the cutthroat competition of a runway fashion reality show and the thrilling exploits of an epic quest . . . a stunning tapestry of adventure’ The Washington Post

Specifications

Author
Genres
Publisher
Type
Binding
Paperback
Cat. No.
5069958
EAN
9781529362909
ISBN
9781529362909