• [The Mercies (Product Image)]
  • Pre-Order The Mercies
    Author: Kiran Millwood Hargrave
    Published by: Picador
    £7.15 RRP £8.99
      • This item is available to pre-order.
      • Due for release: 1 April 2021.
        We expect to receive the item from our suppliers on or around this date.
      • Delivery cost of this item to United Kingdom: £2.00
      • Store prices may vary
      • Return Policy

Description

The Sunday Times Bestseller and BBC Radio 2 Book Club Pick 2020.

For readers of Circe and The Handmaid’s Tale, Kiran Millwood Hargrave’s The Mercies is a story about how suspicion can twist its way through a community, and about a love that could prove as dangerous as it is powerful. Winter, 1617. The sea around the remote Norwegian island of Vardo is thrown into a reckless storm. A young woman, Maren, watches as the men of the island, out fishing, perish in an instant. Vardo is now a place of women.

Eighteen months later, a sinister figure arrives. Summoned from Scotland to take control of a place at the edge of the civilized world, Absalom Cornet knows what he needs to do to bring the women of the island to heel. With him travels his young wife, Ursa. In her new home, and in Maren, Ursa finds something she has never seen before: independent women. But Absalom sees only a place flooded with a terrible evil, one he must root out at all costs…

‘Beautiful and chilling’ Madeline Miller, author of Circe ‘Took my breath away’ Tracy Chevalier, author of Girl with a Pearl Earring

Specifications

Author
Genre
Publisher
Type
Binding
Paperback
Cat. No.
5066063
EAN
9781529005134
ISBN
9781529005134