• [Rise Of The Empress: Book 1: Forest Of A Thousand Lanterns (Product Image)]
  • Currently Unavailable Rise Of The Empress: Book 1: Forest Of A Thousand Lanterns
    Author: Julie C. Dao
    Published by: Philomel Books
    £6.10 RRP £8.99
    • Currently Unavailable
      Submit your email to be notified of changes.

Description

The Wrath and the Dawn meets Snow White and the Huntsman in this dark and mystical East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend about one peasant girl’s quest to become Empress.

Eighteen-year-old Xifeng is beautiful. The stars say she is destined for greatness, that she is meant to be Empress of Feng Lu. But only if she embraces the darkness within her.

Growing up as a peasant in a forgotten village on the edge of the map, Xifeng longs to fulfill the destiny promised to her by her cruel aunt, the witch Guma, who has read the cards and seen glimmers of Xifeng’s majestic future. But is the price of the throne too high? Because in order to achieve greatness, she must spurn the young man who loves her and  exploit the callous magic that runs through her veins–sorcery fueled by eating the hearts of the recently killed. For the god who has sent her on this journey will not be satisfied until his power is absolute. 

Set in an East Asian-inspired fantasy world filled with both breathtaking pain and beauty, Forest of a Thousand Lanterns possesses all the hallmarks of masterful fantasy: dazzling magic, heartbreaking romance, and a world that hangs in the balance. Fans of Heartless, Stealing Snow, and Red Queen will devour this stunning debut.

Specifications

Author
Genre
Publisher
Type
Binding
Paperback
Cat. No.
4083559
EAN
978152474168651200
ISBN
152474168x 152474168X