The Book Of Legendary Lands

  • Buy Now

    Web Price
    £19.99
    RRP £25.00   You Save: £5.01 (20%)
  • In the tradition of On Beauty, On Ugliness and The Infinity of Lists, Umberto Eco presents an enthralling and erudite illustrated tour of the fabled places that have awed and eluded us through the ages.

  • More Below…

Product Description

  • Author
    Umberto Eco  
    Binding
    paperback  
    Cat No.
    3416679  
    EAN
    9780857052964  
    Genre
    Art & Design  
    ISBN
    9780857052964  
    Publisher
    MacLehose Press  
    Type
    Books  
  • In the tradition of On Beauty, On Ugliness and The Infinity of Lists, Umberto Eco presents an enthralling and erudite illustrated tour of the fabled places that have awed and eluded us through the ages.

    From the epic poems of Homer to contemporary science fiction, from the Holy Scriptures to modern mythology and fairy tale, literature and art are full of illusory places we have at some time believed are real, and onto which we have projected our dreams, ideals and fears. Umberto Eco leads us on an illuminating journey through these legendary lands - Atlantis, Thule and Hyperborea, the Earth’s interior and the Land of Cockaigne - and explores utopias and dystopias where our imagination can confront concepts that are too incredible, or too challenging, for our limited real world.

    In The Book of Legendary Lands the author’s text is accompanied by several hundred carefully assembled works of art and literature; the result is a beautifully illustrated volume with broad and enduring appeal.

Customer Reviews

There aren't any reviews published for this product yet, why not be the first to write one?

Write your own review.

All reviews